49 North Interviews: Koumba Larroque

49 North’s Eric Asselin had the pleasure of interviewing Cadet & Junior World Champion Koumba Larroque yesterday. Thanks to Eric for also providing the French to English translation!

 

Where were you born, and where do you live now?

 

I was born in Arpajon, which is in the greater Paris area.  I now live and train at the INSEP in Paris.

 

When did you start the sport?  What made you interested in it?

 

I started to wrestle around the age of 8, because my brothers wrestled, and I got interested by watching them compete.

 

Describe your daily routine when training?

 

A typical day for me is going to school from 08:00 to 10:00, training from 11:00 to 13:00, and I then have lunch.  I go back to school from 14h15 to 16h15 and then train again from 16:30 to 18:30.  Dinner and recuperation ends my day.

 

You almost qualified for the Olympic Games at the age of 17.  Tell me about that learning experience.

 

I am upset about not qualifying for the Olympic Games, but my objective is to win gold in Tokyo, and I do plan to win it.  I’ve gained a lot of experience wrestling senior athletes, and I know that my level isn’t far off from theirs.

 

My son and I would like to know who your favourite foot (soccer) team is.

 

Since I grew up in Paris, I can not have a favourite team other than PSG.

 

Do you plan on competing at both the Junior and Senior World Championships?

 

I plan on competing at both.  My coaches and I are carefully planning my program, and we are being very strategic about it so that it is not too busy.  Since the senior worlds are in Paris, that is the top priority.

 

Other than the European Championships, what other tournament would you like to compete in before Worlds?

 

I will compete in Sweden next month, and the rest still needs to be planned out.

 

 

Thank you so much for your time, Koumba, and we hope that you come and train in Canada one day.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


UA-28812044-1